Intranet - more than the daily browser entry?

Depending on the size of the company, the intranet is not necessarily the number one topic. With increasing growth, however, there are more and more topics that you want to communicate to employees in a simple way. In the beginning, a Slack channel or an email to everyone is sufficient (which is probably only flown over or ends up in the trash can). People know each other and a list of all contact details in Excel (or hopefully in Confluence) is sufficient.

Symbolic picture - insight through the social intranet jungle.

Features that every intranet needs

Before we show you our top 3 intranet solutions, let's first take a look at the features that make up a modern intranet. The requirements for an intranet can vary depending on the company. However, our experience shows that the following properties "Most wanted" are:

News / publications
Central information can be called up centrally. When sending an email, there is a risk that the information will be lost or deleted. A publication makes it possible to find internal news in one place and read it at the right time.

Personal profiles
Are there colleagues who speak Spanish? Do we have a Jira specialist in-house? At which location is Ms. Müller based? All these questions can be answered in a few minutes if the information is already stored in the intranet.

Corporate design
An appealing corporate design increases identification with the company and invites employees to share content. In addition, you are usually greeted by the intranet homepage at the beginning of the working day.

Social Media - Comments und Likes
Elements such as likes and comments show employees that their opinion is in demand and wanted. In addition, in most cases it leads to new ideas and constant improvements. Collaboration is king.

Search
A strong search that finds relevant content within a short time through the entire content is an absolute must for a functional intranet. Keywording and different filter options increase efficiency and save employees a lot of time.

Intuitive navigation
With global navigation, the different topics of the intranet can be arranged in a structured overview.

Personalization
The bigger the company, the more topics are published on the intranet. What interests the accounting department is not of equal importance to the IT department. With personalized elements, employees feel better taken care of and see greater personal benefit.

Multilingualism
In Switzerland in particular, many companies have sites in multiple regions where different languages are spoken or are part of a globally active group. A multilingual intranet underscores the diversity of such a company and is sure to earn sympathy points among employees.

Confluence - the perfect basis for your modern intranet

Confluence has already proven itself to be a very intuitive and clear tool for knowledge management. Thanks to some Atlassian Marketplace solutions, Confluence can be transformed into a modern intranet in no time at all. We would like to introduce you to our top favorites:

Linchpin Intranet Suite

Whether you want individual features or the whole package, Linchpin makes it easy to tailor the configuration to your needs (Linchpin offers a range of individual apps but also Total package in the Marketplace). We like the following features:

  • Customized user profiles
  • Corporate design with just one click
  • Micro Blog - Small news with big impact!
Linchpin - Atlassian intranet solution

Refined for Confluence | Sites & Themes

Design but with a little something extra - with Refined you hardly recognize Confluence. Areas can be grouped into individual sites and thus bring the focus on the relevant topics. A nice detail: you don't have to be a designer to make it look really good. Top features that please us about this app:

  • Toolkit which makes the content more beautiful
  • Possibility to have several navigations in one instance
  • Blog areas without additional content
Refined - Atlassian intranet solution

Enterprise Theme for Confluence

At this point we are of course proud to be able to introduce a Swiss product! Enterprise Theme for Confluence offers a great feature package that transforms Confluence into a clear social intranet. Here are a few features that we really like:

  • “Landing page” view
  • Birthday Macro - never miss a cake again  
  • Header and Footer - Global and Area Specific
Enterprise Theme - Atlassian Intranet Solution


Ready to get more out of Confluence? We are on board!

We are happy to support you in modernizing your intranet. Benefit from

  • Our experience in building intranet solutions with various tools
  • Our know-how in conceptual and methodological topics relating to communication and collaboration
  • Our partnerships with the leading manufacturers of intranet apps in the Atlassian Marketplace

We would be happy to discuss your current situation and your intranet-related needs in an online meeting:


Author: Anja Zhuchkova

Share this post

Intranet – mehr als der tägliche Browsereinstieg?

Je nach Firmengrösse ist das Intranet nicht zwingend das Thema Nummer 1. Mit steigendem Wachstum gibt es aber immer mehr Themen, die man auf einfache Art und Weise den Mitarbeitenden mitteilen möchte. Am Anfang reicht dazu ein Slack-Channel oder eine Email an alle (die wahrscheinlich nur überflogen wird oder gleich im Papierkorb landet). Die Leute kennen sich und eine Liste aller Kontaktdaten im Excel (oder hoffentlich im Confluence) reicht vollkommen aus.

Symbolbild - Durchblick durch den Social Intranet Dschungel.

Features, die jedes Intranet braucht

Bevor wir euch unsere Top 3 der Intranet-Lösungen zeigen, schauen wir uns erstmal die Features an, die ein modernes Intranet ausmachen. Je nach Unternehmen können die Anforderungen an ein Intranet variieren. Unsere Erfahrungen zeigt jedoch, dass folgende Eigenschaften die “most wanted” sind:

Neuigkeiten / Publikationen
Zentrale Informationen sind zentral abrufbar. Bei einer Email besteht die Gefahr, dass die Information untergeht oder gelöscht wird. Eine Publikation ermöglicht es interne Nachrichten an einem Ort zu finden und zur passenden Zeit zu lesen.

Personenprofile
Gibt es Kollegen, die Spanisch sprechen? Haben wir einen Jira Spezialisten im Haus? An welchem Standort sitzt Frau Müller? All diese Fragen sind in wenigen Minuten beantwortet, wenn die Information bereits im Intranet erfasst ist.

Unternehmensdesign
Ein ansprechendes Corporate Design erhöht die Identifikation mit dem Unternehmen und lädt Mitarbeitende ein, Inhalte zu teilen. Zudem wird man in der Regel zu Beginn eines Arbeitstages von der Startseite des Intranets begrüsst.

Social Media – Kommentare und Likes
Elemente wie Likes und Kommentare zeigen den Mitarbeitenden, dass ihre Meinung gefragt und gewünscht ist. Zudem führt es in den meisten Fällen zu neuen Ideen und stetigen Verbesserungen. Collaboration is King.

Suche
Eine starke Suche, welche durch den gesamten Inhalt innert kurzer Zeit relevante Inhalte findet, ist ein absolutes Muss für ein funktionales Intranet. Verschlagwortung sowie unterschiedliche Filtermöglichkeiten steigern die Effizienz und ersparen den Mitarbeitenden viel Zeit.

Intuitive Navigation
Durch eine globale Navigation lassen sich die unterschiedlichen Themen des Intranets in eine strukturierte Übersicht ordnen.

Personalisierung
Je grösser das Unternehmen, desto mehr Themen werden im Intranet publiziert. Was die Buchhaltung interessiert, ist nicht von gleicher Bedeutung für die Informatikabteilung. Mit personalisierten Elementen fühlen sich Mitarbeitende besser abgeholt und sehen einen höheren persönlichen Nutzen.

Mehrsprachigkeit
Gerade in der Schweiz haben viele Unternehmen Standorte in unterschiedlichen Sprachregionen oder sind Teil eines weltweit tätigen Konzerns. Ein mehrsprachiges Intranet unterstreicht die Vielfalt eines solchen Unternehmen und bringt bestimmt Sympathiepunkte bei den Mitarbeitenden.

Confluence – die perfekte Basis für Ihr modernes Intranet

Confluence hat sich bereits als sehr intuitives und übersichtliches Werkzeug für Wissensmanagement bewährt. Dank einigen Atlassian Marketplace Lösungen lässt sich Confluence in Handumdrehen in ein modernes Intranet verwandelt. Unsere Top Favoriten stellen wir euch gerne vor:

Linchpin Intranet Suite

Egal ob man einzelne Features oder das Gesamtpaket haben möchte – mit Linchpin lässt sich die Konfiguration ganz einfach auf das eigene Bedürfnis zuschneiden (Linchpin bietet eine Reihe von einzelnen Apps wie auch das Gesamtpaket im Marketplace an). Folgende Features finden wir klasse:

  • Customized Benutzerprofile
  • Corporate Design auf Knopfdruck
  • Micro Blog – Kleine News mit grosser Wirkung!
Linchpin - Atlassian Intranet Lösung

Refined for Confluence | Sites & Themes

Design mit einem gewissen Extra – mit Refined erkennt man Confluence fast nicht wieder. Bereiche lassen sich in einzelne Sites gruppieren und bringen so den Fokus auf die relevanten Themen. Ein angenehmes Detail: man muss kein Designer sein damit es richtig gut aussieht. Top Features, die uns bei diesem App begeistern:

  • Toolkit, die den Inhalt schöner macht
  • Möglichkeit mehrere Navigationen in einer Instanz zu haben
  • Blog-Bereiche ohne zusätzlichen Content
Refined  - Atlassian Intranet Lösung

Enterprise Theme for Confluence

An dieser Stelle sind wir natürlich stolz ein Schweizer Produkt vorstellen zu dürfen! Enterprise Theme for Confluence bietet ein tolles Feature-Paket an, welches Confluence in ein übersichtliches Social Intranet verwandelt. Auch hier ein paar Features, die wir richtig gut finden:

  • “Landing page” Ansicht
  • Geburtstags-Macro – nie mehr einen Kuchen verpassen  
  • Header und Footer – Global und Bereichsspezifisch
Enterprise Theme  - Atlassian Intranet Lösung

Bereit mehr aus Confluence zu machen? Wir sind dabei!

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Modernisierung Ihres Intranets. Profitieren Sie von

  • Unserer Erfahrung im Aufbau von Intranet-Lösungen mit verschiedenen Tools
  • Unseren Know-How in konzeptionellen sowie methodischen Themen rund um die Kommunikation und Kollaboration
  • Unseren Partnerschaften zu den führenden Herstellern der Intranet Apps im Atlassian Marketplace

Gerne besprechen wir Ihre aktuelle Situation und Ihre Bedürfnisse rund um das Thema Intranet bei einem online Meeting:

Autor: Anja Zhuchkova

Diesen Beitrag teilen